Posted by: Shell | March 7, 2009

To everything, there is a season…

When I was very little, my mother and her father had a falling out. I never really knew my grandfather because of that. A few years ago, my mother and her father reconciled and the family was technically united but the strain of not being part of his life for almost 20 years took a toll on how the relationship should have been.

Granddad is a wonderful man. Very funny. Very handsome. His looks are similar to Lorne Green… so much so that his boat was named “The Ponderosa”. Master of the martini, tells a joke with a twinkle in his eye. An all around good guy.

Two years ago he and my step-grandmother (affectionately known as “Granny Good Witch”) moved to West Palm, Florida.

Try as I might, I just don’t feel the familial connection with them that I should. It doesn’t mean I don’t love or care about them. It’s just that without the routine of talking to them, we never really reconnected.

A few nights ago, my mother told me that my step-grandmother let her know that my grandfather (all 6′ 3″ of him) was now bedridden with Alzheimer’s that was progressively getting worse. His mother had the same thing.

It is not lost on me that this is hereditary and that I should be doing things NOW to prevent being part of that chain. I already forbid drinks in cans (aluminum has been shown to cause Alzheimer’s.) I do word puzzles and keep my mind active to help keep it stimulated. Still, it’s in the back of my mind how cruel this disease is.

Today, my mother told me that his family said they’d be surprised if he lasted 24 hours. Such a quick strike.

I’m most concerned about my mother and what role guilt may play in his death for that long absence they shared.

When I asked about a funeral, my mother told me that he was donating his body to science. I was surprised because I have made arrangements for this for myself.

Hopefully, he can shed some light on this terrible disease.

I wonder if my Nana will be in Heaven waiting for him… complaining about that “damned boat.”

Responses

  1. Update:My Grandfather passed away yesterday evening.Prayers welcome for my mother, who is now orphaned.


Leave a Reply

Categories

